A Place to Connect Teachers and Support Children

I am currently listening to Dr. Bailey’s training session in my car every morning. Most of the people who know me on a personal basis or have even observed in my classroom will tell you that I am completely invested in understanding the individual child and understanding a guidance plan that will help support each child.  Through what we currently do at my center and all I have studied on Dr. Bailey I feel that I am making strides in a good direction.
This morning as I was listening to Dr. Bailey’s presentation, she quoted a song by Johnny Mercer which says,
“You’ve got to accentuate the positive, Eliminate the Negative, Latch on the affirmative!”
I think this is a PERFECT motto to follow in the classroom.  Accentuate the positive with the children.  Eliminate the negative behavior in positive ways and latch on to the affirmative baby steps!!
How did you follow this motto today? This week? Even when your frustrated?  How did you do this?  Please share! We’d love to hear!
Comments on: "Motto for the day and for your lifetime!" (2)

  1. Hi there, I found your blog while searching for infor about the Reggio Emilia approach. It’s also from your blog that I found out about Dr Bailey. I searched for her book and have just finished reading “Easy to love and Difficult to discipline”. It was hard to accept her way of teaching initially but I was bought over after I finished the book. Just want to thank you for sharing this and what a difference it would make for us.

    By the way, my kids are now in a reggio programme and I’m also hoping to do project based approach with them at home. How do you determine a topic with your 3 years old? Do you provide options for them to choose?

    • Hello!

      Please subscribe to the blog (on the right hand side of the entrance page) to follow more of our Dr. Bailey work, project work, and our love for learning! I am so glad that you had a chance to read Dr. Bailey’s book. I think you will LOVE her two books, I Love You Rituals and There’s Got to Be a Better Way: Discpline That Works. I agree those books truly have so much information to give you and it is a life style change, but I promise it is so worth it.

      As for project work, I observe what the children are doing to pick out a project. So for instance, as we saw new construction outdoors last year. The children began to spend their outdoor time observing what the workers were doing. Thus sprang that project. This current project sprang from the different weather events that happened during the course of a week. As you observe your boys, it might be the trees in your back yard, the shoe store down the street, or the grocery store. Any thing the boys are interested in that could begin a project? It needs to be a hands-on experience and the items not to be real (for example-you couldn’t get your hands on a real dinosaur!).

      Let me know what else I can do to help! Good Luck! I can’t wait to hear all about it!
      Andromahi Harrison

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

